Live-in, Part-time Ranch Caretaking Job available in Iowa Hill, California ~ Off-grid

Filled / Expired

Kings Hill Ranch

Email Address Hidden
Iowa Hill, CA
Job Type
Part Time
$550 /mo or more (see listing)
Date Posted
January 25, 2023
Housing Offered
0-2 yrs

In need of a ranch caretaker to live on property and work part time doing animal chores 4-5 days a week. I will guarantee enough work per month to at least cover rent. Ideally, the caretaker has their own RV or Trailer. I do have a 50 foot trailer to provide if needed. $550 rent if you supply your own housing, $700 to rent the existing trailer (1 bedroom, full bathroom & kitchen, water heater, wood stove, propane fridge & 150 gallon propane tank). Wages paid are $17 an hour.

The ranch is 300 acres off grid, located in Iowa Hill California, about 45 minutes north of Auburn. The elevation is 2,500 feet which means it snows a couple times a year but rarely sticks for more than a couple days.

This property is at the top of a mountain with an air strip and amazing views of the surrounding areas. We have a 30-acre walnut orchard & many animals. There are 50 miniature goats, 2 horses, 4 alpacas, 2 pigs, 1 emu and chickens. The animal duties are 1 hour in am and 30 minutes in PM. In Spring and early summer, morning chores are only 30 minutes because we do not have to feed.

We are starting a forestry grant project to thin out trees and mulch brush for 100 acres. There will be available work creating burn piles, limbing trees and running heavy equipment (if you have experience). We also have a couple farm stay rentals to service, if interested in additional work.

This property is off grid, and 30 minutes from the closest store. You will need to have a generator or solar for power. I will supply water. There are fenced areas with beds available for a vegetable garden. Must be able to harvest and cut your own firewood. Must have a 4wd truck, and your own chainsaw. Garbage needs to be hauled to Foresthill Transfer station.

Must have experience living Off Grid. Many think they want and can do it, but fail. This living situation is for someone who enjoys alone time and being far from the city.

A little about me. I have another property in Newcastle with my husband and I’m constantly back and forth. Depending on ranch projects, I may be up for 5 days at a time, or back and forth throughout the week. Winters are slow on the ranch, therefore; I’m away most of the week and come up for a couple days. My husband owns a ornamental iron shop in town. He comes up to the ranch on weekends to help me with projects. We both are freedom loving Americans and hope to find a likeminded individual for this job.


Forward cover letter & resume to our email address.

Visit website here:

Email Address Hidden

See More

Posted In
, , , , , , , , , , ,

Want ranch & farm jobs delivered to your inbox every Monday?