Position Wanted: Cattleman looking for Horseback Outfit (in MT, WY, ID, CO, NV)

Gavin S.

Willing to Relocate: MT, WY, ID, CO, NV
Job Type
Full Time or Seasonal
Date Posted
April 17, 2024
Housing Needed
10+ yrs

Hello, my name is Gavin S. I’m seeking employment on a working cattle ranch that believes in enjoying what they do, doing a job right the first time, preventive maintenance when possible, and being efficient with their time.

28 years old, grew up on a family ranch in Montana. I’ve been dragging calves to the fire starting at 8 years old. I’ve learned a little since then and would like to continue down that path. After high school I worked seasonal and full time jobs (alone and with a crew) across MT, ID, and WY taking in what I could. My focus has been cattle and range health and productivity. Using horses and dogs that I try to make and keep as soft handling as possible to help me achieve my goals.

Experienced enough to doctor a bovine horseback with the correct medicine, identify and assist a troublesome birth, administer an IV drip set, splint a leg, and other duties. Been around spring fed water lines, as well as artesian and generator pumped wells, and managing live water. Have put up and maintained different types of let-down and solid fence, my favorite is natural boundary. With that being said, I like being horseback in cattle but have no problem stepping off to perform others tasks as needed. If the fence is down, I will put it up. No water to cows? Guess I’m getting muddy.

Humble enough to admit when I do not know something or have spoken incorrectly. I will tell you when something breaks and when I’m the reason it broke.

Hard working, respectful, self-sufficient, problem solver that takes pride in every job I do. I do like to keep things picked up and in order as it contributes to being efficient. Cattle that handle well and can pick up and string out make me happy. If they don’t know how to do so, I’m confident they can be taught. But, if that ol cow jumps the back pen one more time, she’s going to wear a necklace.

The ideal place would contribute to my thirst for knowledge when possible while allowing me the opportunity to contribute to their success. I would like to stay within several hours of Billings, MT but willing to expand that area for the right place. If I sound like someone that could fit your workforce, or if you would like to visit more, feel free to give me a call. I have a resume and reference page available at your request. Please keep in mind that I am looking for a horseback outfit that ropes when they brand and doctor on pasture.

Would come with two broke ponies and a green one, tacking my own iron. Also have three broke working dogs that will come with that I’d like to work. I can run tractors but do not want to spend 4 months solid in one throughout the summer. Trying to be as transparent as possible throughout this. Thank you for taking the time to read this, and an extended thank you to those who may reach out. I look forward to hearing from you.



Reach out via email or phone at your convenience.


[email protected]


See More

Posted In

Want ranch & farm jobs delivered to your inbox every Monday?