Position Wanted: Educated + Fit, Single Outdoorsman / Writer seeking Unique Opportunity

Filled / Expired

John M.

Email Address Hidden
Phone Number Hidden
Willing to Relocate
Job Type
Full or Part Time
Date Posted
September 26, 2023
Housing Needed
2-5 yrs

Howdy all,

About two years ago I found an incredible opportunity through these classifieds and would love to see if I can repeat that.

I’m an early-30’s male with an extensive outdoors and athletic background, education in literature/psychology/Spanish. I come from the type of family that might post on here looking for a discrete caretaker for a vacation property or similar, but the way life goes, I’m out on my own seeking a humble, rewarding life with a right blend of hard work, contemplative solitude, and some time to write and explore the surrounding land. I am willing to move almost anywhere for the right fit. Life is a constant adventure and learning experience.

I have some experience with horses, heavy equipment, and general construction, but I would never advertise myself as instantly self-sufficient in all the above. Instead, I would say I’m extremely comfortable around ranch and rural duties with a refresher or a bit of time to educate myself on the needs of your property or projects.

I have a seven year old catahoula hound dog, a paid-off vehicle, and plenty of understanding in people’s needs and goals with special parcels of land.

My preference would be anything from an equine therapy property to a conservation-minded ranch to a large parcel that mostly requires luxury vacation resort style upkeep and service. I am not the right candidate for a traditional cattle operation. I am an extremely trustworthy person to steward your property, engage in as much or little conversation as desired, take care of the logistics of a second home, etc.

Life goes a number of ways, and for me, it’s gone the way of having little tying me to any one place. My possessions are minimal, my curiosity and adaptability are vast, and I have a sincere appreciation for all landscapes and terrains on our beautiful continent. I’m an exceptionally fit hiker/cyclist/general outdoorsman who can go well above and beyond typical physical requirements of hard outdoor labor. I am also well read and sober minded and prepared to offer a rare combination of mind and body to an employer who understands the value I can bring to their operation. If all goes well, I’d love to say that I wrote one (or more!) books while in residency at your property. If housing is not provided, my hope is that salary and other requirements reflect that.

I know this is a somewhat non-traditional posting, but I did meet some very wonderful people through my last go at finding the right fit. Looking forward to talking with you.

Willing to Relocate: Colorado, Arizona, New Mexico, Utah, California, Texas, Wyoming, Idaho, Washington, California, Tennessee, Arkansas, etc.


Reach out via email or phone at your convenience.

Email Address Hidden

Phone Number Hidden

See More

Posted In

Want ranch & farm jobs delivered to your inbox every Monday?