Position Wanted: Hunting Ranch Management

Filled / Expired

Greg M.

Email
Email Address Hidden
Phone
Phone Number Hidden
Location
East Mountain, Texas
Job Type
Full Time
Salary
Date Posted
May 15, 2016

Currently, I live with my wife, Sarah, and my three children Israel (6), Lillyann (4) and Judah (9 mths) in Northeast Texas.

For the last 15 years I have served with the International ALERT Academy, a non-profit organization which trains young men in emergency service and disaster response. My responsibilities there were as their Director of Campus Security and Director of their Law Enforcement Academy.

Before serving with ALERT, I lived in Michigan where I worked as both a Firefighter (16 yrs) and Police Officer (12 yrs). I was born and raised in Michigan where my dad was an avid hunter and trapper. Though he died when I was 14 yrs old, he taught me so much about being a hard worker – steady and faithful – and respecting God’s creation for its beauty and resources. When dad died, I began hunting (mostly whitetail deer) and fishing to help support our family. As an adult serving in emergency services, I used most of my free time to hunt, train others to hunt, and to care for hunting properties.

My main investment there was overseeing a property that was approximately 1,800 acres of private land which was adjacent to the Audubon nature preserve. I cared for the main farmhouse which I leased and lived in – and did maintanence and improvements to – as well as a hunting cottage on the property. I maintained the land and trails, and coordinated any hunting and fishing on the property and on Eagle Lake which is on the land as well. During this time, I also had a small, but excellent hunting lease which was locked in by State Prison property.

In 2000, I accepted an offer by the International ALERT Academy to move to Texas to head up their Campus Security and to start a Law Enforcement program for their students.

The ALERT Academy is located on 2600 acres of both developed and wooded land. I provided daily security which included locking gates and buildings, patrols of developed, wooded and pasture areas, handling trespassers, etc. My responsibilities also included the maintenance of gates, locks, and some fencing. During the year, I also managed hunting schedules for those who hunted on property (keeping track of where everyone was) and did hunter safety and guidelines training.

During my free time, I thoroughly enjoyed keeping hunting lanes clear and creating new paths. I especially enjoyed setting other hunters up for success: letting them know good areas to hunt, wind and weather advice, and being available to provide tips on processing.

Three separate years, I was blessed to take my law enforcement students to the Cielo Vista Ranch in San Luis, CO. This property is 83,000+ acres of trophy elk hunting land. There, we worked to provide short term, concentrated poacher deterance.

Currently, I have a small hunting lease (339+ acres) here in East Texas that I just started working and developing.

I enjoy land maintenance and keeping a well-groomed yard. I am very skilled with a chainsaw and in brush clearing. I enjoy tractor work. I can do basic vehicle and equipment maintenance and some repair. As a fire-fighter, we were thoroughly trained to keep our tools, vehicles, and in-house living quarters in excellent condition.

Last September, the organization I worked with for the past 15 yrs made the decision to down-size and eliminated my position entirely. Having served with Michigan emergency service for so many years and then at ALERT for 15 yrs, I am again searching for meaningful employment and really looking for a place to thrive.

My Joy is my wife and children. Sarah is a stay-at-home wife, mother, teacher who prepares our meals and keeps our home with a glad heart. Before we married 7 yrs ago, Sarah worked in the Conferences Dept at ALERT where she helped with many aspects of event planning. Before that, she wrote curriculum for a Children’s Ministry and travelled around the world teaching children and young people to follow Christ.

We would be delighted to find a work situation where we can serve as family, putting our hands to the plow and being a team.

Thank you so very much for taking the time to read this, I know I got a little long-winded. If you would like to speak further, I would be honored to hear from you.

Experience Horseback Riding:: None
Experience Cow/Calves: None
Experience Roping: None
Experience Calving: None
Experience Fencing: 5-10 Years
Experience Cook/Chef: 5-10 Years
Experience at Dude/Guest Ranch: None
Experience Front Office / Administrative: 1-5 Years
Need Room & Board?: Maybe
What States Are You Willing to Move To?: All

Email
Email Address Hidden

Phone
Phone Number Hidden

Posted In

Want ranch & farm jobs delivered to your inbox every Monday?