Position Wanted: Naturalist / Trail Riding Guide & Ranch Hand

Filled / Expired

Anna S.

Email
Email Address Hidden
Location
Willing to Relocate
Job Type
Full Time or Seasonal
Salary
Negotiable
Date Posted
December 15, 2019
Housing Needed
Maybe
Experience
5-10 yrs

I am a traveling naturalist with 20 years of horseback riding/horse care experience, looking for a position that could combine two of my greatest loves in life: horses and nature. I grew up trail riding through the forests and farms of Massachusetts, and have experience in a variety of disciplines including Western, dressage, and show jumping. I had an Appaloosa/Tennessee Walker cross mare for 12 years and have taught riding lessons for beginners. I've worked to help train young horses (mostly Quarter Horses including some with issues such as bucking and bolting) using natural horsemanship methods. I also have experience working at an eventing and hunter barn. I'm happy to work long hours feeding and watering horses, training and exercising horses, helping with basic equine first aid, mending fences, cleaning stalls and paddocks, grooming and saddling, cleaning tack, etc.

I have also worked as an environmental educator, park ranger, artist/art teacher, and biologist. I've worked seasonally in various states from coast to coast for the past six years, since graduating college. I am particularly interested in birds (and have been birding since I was very young), but I also love reptiles and amphibians, wildflowers, mammals, trees, geology, and more. I can identify most bird species in the US by sight and sound, and also love to teach people about their biology and migration patterns. I would be excited to work as a naturalist on horseback, guiding visitors of all ages and maybe developing other programs (such as art classes, paint nights, hikes, bird walks, pond life exploration/catching critters for kids, canoe trips, campfires, etc.) at a guest ranch. I especially love working with children, and have learned many games, skits, and crafts that they enjoy through my time as an educator. I've spent a lot of time working in hot, cold, and buggy environments. I am first aid/CPR/AED certified. I would also be willing to help with office work such as booking clients, or cleaning rooms and basic ranch maintenance as needed. I would prefer housing on-site or close to the work location, either provided or for an affordable rate; I love to travel to new places, especially in the mountains or near the coast.

If it sounds like I could be a valuable team member on your ranch, please send me an e-mail. I'd be glad to provide you with my resume/references and set up a phone or Skype interview. Thank you so much!

Sincerely,
Anna

Email
Email Address Hidden

Posted In

Want ranch & farm jobs delivered to your inbox every week?