Position Wanted: Stable Mature Couple (early 50s) Looking for a Long-term win-win situation

Ailsa H.

Location
Willing to Relocate
Job Type
Full Time
Salary
Negotiable
Date Posted
September 10, 2021
Housing Needed
Yes
Experience
2-5 yrs

Husband and wife in their early 50s with all our children flown the coop seeking a long term ranch-hand or caretaker position that offers housing with a base salary.

Here is a little about us… Husband is currently a registered nurse but in a previous professional life had done about everything in agriculture that you can imagine. Granted it’s been a while since he has done it but he has experience in: farm hand working wheat fields in Kansas (plowing, planting, combine driving etc.), working for Kansas department of wildlife maintaining Buffalo herds, and fencing, working on feedlots, moving cattle at processing plants, also a certified vet tech with experience with cattle and small animals, avid hunter, and at one point was even a certified taxidermist! This guy has done it all! He is not afraid of hard work. Very handy – familiar with basic plumbing, basic construction, engine maintenance, fencing, etc. Currently even builds and restores furniture in his spare time. This guy is proud of the quality of his work. If you want something done the right way – this is your guy! No short cuts here!

Wife, has been a registered nurse her entire life but currently works in an administrative role managing a large team of 40+ professionals remotely along with a sizeable budget. She has basic equine care skills (we currently own 2 Geldings), and can care for most common farm/ ranch animals (chickens, goats, donkeys etc.) She is also a beekeeper! Cleaning and laundry are not beneath her either!

We currently live on acreage in hill country Texas, and love working the land, and raising our livestock. However, as with others in the healthcare industry, 2020 took a toll on us and after some soul searching we are ready for a change. We are both professionals and take pride in our work. We understand what it means to be salaried (varied hours, occasional weekends etc.) We have clean background checks, drink occasionally, no drugs and don’t smoke.

The perfect situation for us would entail a job for the hubby as a ranch caretaker on a small to medium sized ranch, located in an area that does not get a lot of snow. We are willing to consider any location but would prefer western US as we have extended family located in western Canada, Montana and Nevada (willing to consider: Texas, Montana, Colorado, Northern Nevada, Northern Arizona, Idaho, Utah).

He would be responsible for basic maintenance, building maintenance, fencing maintenance, landscaping, clearing brush/ land, perhaps assisting guests with hunting, etc. (Due to a previous fall, work on very tall ladders may be an issue). Wife would be available for administrative record keeping, book-keeping, guest billing, animal care, light housekeeping and laundry on a part-time basis, but would like to be able to continue to work her remote telecommute job (either part-time or full-time depending on how many hours you would need her).

Housing would need to be in the deal (prefer 2 bedroom so one could be used as an office for the wife), and property must have access to high speed internet. We would be selling our ranchette and downsizing and simplifying life, and would like to find a long-term arrangement. We would like to bring our 2 Geldings and 2 slant horse trailer with us, so a spare paddock with run-in shelter, or a couple of barn stalls would be great (of course we would cover our own feed), and our 2 Golden Retrievers. Lastly, Hubby has A LOT of tools that he has acquired over the years and would really like a sizeable workshop to store them in.

If we sound like we may be a good fit for your ranch please reach out.

Email
[email protected]

Posted In
,

If interested, reach out via email at your convenience.

Want ranch & farm jobs delivered to your inbox every Monday?