Position Wanted: Sustainable Livestock Graduate Student Looking for Work as a Ranch Hand

Brianna K.

Phone
262-408-8534
Location
Willing to Relocate - USA
Job Type
Full or Part Time
Salary
Negotiable
Date Posted
May 18, 2020
Housing Needed
Yes
Experience
0-2 yrs

Hello everyone! My name is Bree and I am 27 years old and from Wisconsin. I graduated from the University of Wisconsin where I studied international studies and then commissioned as an officer in the United States Army where I served as an artillery officer. Since I've been out, I have developed a deep passion for sustainable cattle ranching. I am going to be starting an online, part time Master's program through Colorado State University in sustainable agriculture with a livestock focus in the fall and am looking to work as a ranch hand (full or part time, year round) at the same time. I've realized that in this industry, experience matters more than education, and with two summers (8 total months) as an intern/ranch hand in Wyoming under my belt, I am deeply committed to this industry and am ready for a year round, live-in ranch hand position.

Last summer, I went to Wyoming to intern for the Hecht Creek Ranch. They have over 700 head of cattle, pigs, sheep, horses, and chickens. I would say that working there has given me a great overview of how to run a ranch and I can confidently complete any standard ranch task given to me. I am back here for the summer of 2020 and looking for work for after this time period, which ends September 15, 2020. I am excited to continue learning, love a challenge, and am constantly looking for ways to improve the land and increase efficiency, as well as improving myself.

If I work for you, you can expect me to be engaging, curious, positive, a very hard worker, trainable, responsible, enthusiastic, community and team-oriented, and quick to adapt. I can provide references and a resume upon request.

My ideal job is longer term as I work on my online degree, which will take 3-4 years to complete if working full-time and going to school part-time. I am willing to move anywhere in the US. My true passion lies with cattle, but am willing to work with any and all livestock. Some of my skills include the following: fixing fences, haying, grazing management, irrigation management, maintaining animal records, inspecting livestock health, tagging livestock, butchering chickens, working horses, brandings, corral work, cattle drives, driving a tractor, backing up a trailer, operating an excavator, CSA/farmers markets, feeding, doctoring livestock, calving (sheep/cattle) daily chores, and holistic management of pastures. I would love to learn more about farm machinery/fixing equipment, construction, and horse/stock dog training.

I am extremely open minded regarding the type of work as it relates to an apprenticeship, part time, full time, or even working in exchange for room and board. What I care most about is being outside, working the animals, and hard, rewarding work.

Thank you for taking the time to read my listing, and I hope that you consider me for your ranch.

Email
[email protected]

Phone
262-408-8534

Posted In

Want ranch & farm jobs delivered to your inbox?